Welcome to our Judges for the Purbeck Shorts Competition 2022

This year, we have another incredible selection of high quality short films at our Short Film Competition.  Buy a ticket to this much loved evening and you too will get your chance to vote for the Audience Award.  However, choosing a single overall winner is not going to be easy but we have a phenomenal panel of judges to undertake this task:


Samantha Iwowo

Samantha Iwowo, is a screenwriter, director and researcher, who commenced her career as a commissioned screenwriter with South Africa’s largest cable network, M-Net. Samantha wrote several episodes of the daily drama series, Tinsel (2008 – present), from 2013 to 2014. She has also written fifty published screenplays. These include the internationally celebrated feature Oloibiri (2016): Made in collaboration with Student Emmy and Academy awards winning director, Curtis Graham, it premiered at the Cannes Film Festival, in 2015. Her most recent screenplay, The Tyrant (forthcoming), is a biography on Zimbabwean dictator, Robert Mugabe; She has also directed four films; her works often situate within themes of postcolonialism, and transnational cinema. Her directorial piece, Go Get Milk, is an advocacy piece on the teenage knife-crime incidents in South-East London.


Jonathan Carr

Dr Jonathon Carr is Director of the Bournemouth Film School at Arts University Bournemouth. He is a documentary filmmaker and former newspaper journalist.





Sue Sudbury

Sue Sudbury is a documentary filmmaker and Associate Professor of Media Practice at Bournemouth University. Her most recent feature documentary Indian Space Dreams was shortlisted for the Academy Best International Feature Doc Award and screened last year at The Rex as part of the Purbeck Film Festival.



Andy Paterson

Andy Paterson is a producer and assistant director, known for Tigers (2014), The Railway Man (2013), Girl with a Pearl Earring (2003) and Hilary and Jackie (1998). We know Andy as a great friend and supporter of the festival and he, together with Olivia Hetreed, became our first Patrons.



Deborah Paige

Deborah Paige trained and worked as an actress, before directing in the mid 80’s. Following work as a director at The Bristol Old Vic and the Soho Theatre Co she was then appointed artistic director of Salisbury Playhouse, followed by The Sheffield Crucible, where productions included the stage premiere of Brassed Off which transferred to The National Theatre.

She has worked as a freelance director at theatres such as The Lyceum, Hampstead Theatre and the Old Vic, as well as in drama schools in London. She is currently working with actors on the TV series Sex Education.

Deborah is currently vice-chair of the Director’s Charitable Foundation and a co-chair of The Mowlem Theatre.


Rob Dartnall

Rob Dartnall has been Chair of judges of the Purbeck Shorts Competition for over a decade. He has a background as a producer and film maker of documentary films. In more recent years he has held lecturing posts both in Edinburgh and at Bournemouth and Poole College. He loves the film-making process and values the opportunity to encourage and inspire emerging new talent.



Buy your tickets here